Once you’ve earned your PAYO payroll certification, you are required to recertify by either earning recertification credit hours (RCH) or by successfully retaking the certification exam.

For the Fundamental Payroll Certification (FPC), recertification is required after 3 years. Professionals who earn their Certified Payroll Professional (CPP) certification are required to recertify after 5 years.

For additional details on the recertification process and requirements, visit the Recertification section on PAYO’s website.

Using PayTrain for Recertification

Hear why John Lestock likes using PayTrain to earn RCHs.

Good news, both PayTrain® Fundamentals and PayTrain® Mastery can be used to earn RCHs towards your recertification requirements. The charts below give the RCH levels for both programs. You must score 80% or better on the post-test to earn RCHs.

PayTrain Fundamentals
1st Time User 24 RCH or 2.4 CEU
Repeat User 12 RCH or 1.2 CEU
PayTrain Mastery
1st Time User 40 RCH or 4.0 CEU
Repeat User 20 RCH or 2.0 CEU